THE atrocious weather conditions did not put a dampener on the annual Furness and South Cumbria Motorcycle Sports Awards presentation night.

Motorcycle enthusiasts from all branches of the sport packed into the Soccer Bar in Barrow on Saturday.

Seventeen awards were dished out, with Barrow’s DeeJay Walker winning the Mark ‘Tups’ Halfpenny Cup after producing the best performance by a Furness Moto Cross rider.

Grange rider Tom McHale delivered the best TT performance from a Furness competitor and claimed the Bridgegate Motorcycle Shield.

The Evening Mail award for the most successful Furness rider in road racing went to Alistair Howarth of Silecroft.

Many fans and award winners were prevented from attending after storms hit South Cumbria. Popular race commentator Garry Gardiner, who usually hosts the evening, was left stranded in Preston. But to everyone’s delight the guest of honour, MGP and TT winner Nick Jefferies, did make it and he treated the audience with amusing stories about his racing career.

Further smiles were raised when Sharon Platt, who operates her Sharons Balloons business in Millom, presented keen golfer Jefferies a “lightweight” set of clubs made completely out of balloons.

The not so sought-after Duncan Mayverrs Crash and Trash award was also handed out.

This trophy is given to an unlucky recipient who had the most spectacular spill of the season. This year it went to Barrow’s Sam Walker for his spectacular 100mph race spill at Aintree.

During the evening two free draws took place with one lucky lady going home with a large hamper donated by Paul’s Carpets of Dalton and another with a large bouquet of flowers

A small door charge and subsequent collections raised £580 for the Pride of Cumbria Air Ambulance.

Les Trotter managed to get a T-shirt signed by several TT stars, world champions and motorcycling celebrities, with that item raising £325 for the Croft Nursing home in Barrow.

Trotter would like to thank all who supported the evening in what was a difficult time for everyone.


Mark ‘Tups’ Halfpenny Cup (best overall performance by a Furness Moto Cross rider): DeeJay Walker (Barrow)

Bridgegate Motorcycle Shield (best TT perfomance by a Furness rider): Tom McHale (Grange)

Evening Mail Award (most successful Furness rider in road racing): Alistair Howarth (Silecroft)

John Wren Motorcycles Award (most improved Furness Moto cross rider): Jack Keith (Askam)

Nigel Birkett Award (most improved Trials rider): Tom Hodgson (Keswick)

Martin Crooks Award (most improved rider in road racing up to 250cc): Geoff Hadwin (Ireleth)

Phil Cotton Award (best prepared machine in any class) Mike Bracken (Kendal) B&M stores Award (most improved road racer over 250cc): Clare Harris (Barrow)

Graham Shimmin Award (best performance by an under 21-year-old): Will Pickering (Barrow)

Duddon FIRE Protection Award (best performance by rider over 40-year-old): Dave Peters (Ulverston)

P&K Joiners (Barrow) Award (best performance in a specialist motorcycle sport): Rob Shuttleworth (Askam)

Les Trotter Award (best championship in road racing): Danny Shaw (Barrow)

Duncan Mayvers Crash and Trash Award (most spectacular spill of the season): Sam Walker (Barrow)

Bill Yates Memorial Trophy (most determined effort at a road race event): Dan Stewart (Barrow)

Tony Robinson Memorial Shield (most improved moto cross rider on a machine over 250cc): Mike Walker (Barrow)

D`reen Trotter Award (for services to the sport): Norman Cooper (Torver)

Ulverston and District Motorcycle Club Award (for dedication to the sport): Tom Biles (Ulverston)