Shaun McPoland took the Barrow Friday League individual darts title for the second time in three years after beating Denis Plant 4-1 in the final.

McPoland had previously come through his semi-final with British Legion teammate Michael Yorke, winning in straight legs in a match held earlier in the week.

On finals night, Plant (Barrow Football Supporters Club) came up against the Navy Club’s Joe O’Leary in the second last-four clash and went ahead after finishing with a 54 knock-up in 29 darts to win the opening leg 601-383.

O’Leary began well in the second, including a 121 score, but struggled on the doubles, which allowed Plant to come back and pinch the game with a 69 knock-up.

Plant then made sure of his place in the final by opening up a 167-point lead in the third game and he never looked back to knock up on double tops and seal a 601-344 win.

In the final, McPoland opened by hitting scores of 125 and 121 but couldn’t finish, allowing Plant to come back and steal the leg 601-599 before McPoland responded in style by knocking up with 54 in just 21 darts to win 601-334.

He then opened up a 200-point lead in the third by the time he was down to his double and although he again struggled to make it, he eventually took the game on double two to go 2-1 up.

McPoland pulled away from the start in the fourth game with 100 and 99 scores but Plant, undeterred, came back well with 85 and 128 scores to level, only for McPoland to pinch the game on double 16 in a very tight game winning 601-597.

The fifth game saw McPoland hit two 135 scores and a ton score to leave Plant in his wake and he knocked up on 36 using 1-3 and double 16 to seal the title.