The Police won the first league title in their history after storming to victory in the Furness and District bowling league, sponsored by John Sharples (Letting Agents).

Having missed out by just four points last year, they seemed a different animal from last year and won by an impressive 20 points from nearest rivals King Alfred with Lindal taking third place.

The Police turned up at the King Alfred green for their last game against the relegated A team. On an immaculate green they did what had come naturally this year and ran out comfortable 12-3 winners.

Stuart Price won 21-7 with Paul Kissock and Mark Johnson backing him up with 21-12 victories. Dave Whitehead capped off an impressive personal season with a tremendous 21-12 victory for the Alfred, with Ian McDonald and Peter Harris scoring their other points.

King Alfred travelled to a tricky Hawcoat Park fixture knowing their reign was over but battled hard in a tight 8-6 defeat.

Bob Parkinson 21-4 and Dave Hird 21-12 were the Park’s top performers, whilst Lee Barnard and Mark Coulter shone for the Alfred.

Although losing his game the Alfred’s Barry Lowden has been crowned Merit champion for the third year on the spin.

Lindal also ended their season with a defeat as they travelled to the Post Office, losing 9-5.

Johnno Kell 21-9 and Mike Fieldhouse 21-10 were the standouts for the Posties as were father and son Darren and Sam Naylor.

Neil France returned to the game with a 21-12 victory.

Joining King Alf A in the drop are Hawcoat Park A who ended their season with a 10-4 defeat away at Red River. The Reddie’s John Prentice 21-5 and James Jackson 21-9 were in brilliant form as was Mike Proctor in his 21-10 victory.

Division 2 saw West Shore crowned champions after a great tussle through the season with Roose who join them in Division 1 next year.

Finishing their season with the longest trip of the year to Kirkby they had a brilliant 11-4 victory.

It was a club double for the Shore as top man Steve Hunter won the Merit losing just one game all season.

Despite a valiant fight Roose B and Walney Park A will be playing third division bowls next year.

Division 3 champions Lindal A had sealed the title a while back, and after a stuttering last few weeks finished in style winning 11-3 against Coop B.

North Scale will be joining Lindal A in Division 2 after being victorious in the ‘winner takes all’ match between themselves and West Mount A.