Red River won the the Alan Myerscough (Ford) sponsored Ulverston and District Bowling league for the first time in their history having led since week two of the season.

The title means they also completed the double after their earlier win in the KO Cup.

They certainly signed off in style dropping just one game to the relegated Ulverston Cons as they ran out 13-1 winners, meaning they held off the late charge of Lindal who ended up just four points behind the champions after defeating last years table toppers King Alfred 12-2.

Red River’s John Brady was awesome in a rare appearance winning 21-4 whilst Shane Barron capped off a good personal season for the Cons being their lone scorer 21-13.

In the Lindal match Ian France, Tommy Richardson and Sam Naylor all won 21-7 for the home side, Martin Barrow and Mike Hool scoring the Alfred’s points.

Dalton CC have had a brilliant season to finish in third place in the table, although ended the season disappointingly as they fell to a 10-4 defeat away at Hawcoat Park. Peter McDonald and Bob Stewart were Hawcoat’s star men whilst the father and son partnership of Andrew and Billy Thornton led the way for the Cricket.

Glaxo also had one of their best ever seasons as they took fourth place, winding up with a 9-5 victory at home to the Co-op. Paul Curwen, Steve Viney and Rory McIlroy all won to single figures whilst Johnny Benn having struggled all year in the second team found the step up to the first team to his liking winning 21-15.

Relegated Co-op A were the only home team in the league not to win this week falling to a 13-2 defeat at the hands of Post Office. Postie stalwarts Dave Mellen 21-9 and Alf Oldfield 21-10 were the men in form, whilst Alan Fay replied for Coop winning 21-9 himself.

The remaining fixtures saw wins for Roose over Salthouse and Walney Park over Askam.

There were no shocks in the final week of Division 2 as Salthouse A took the title and promotion by 10 points from Dalton CC A who will join them in Division 2 next year.

In the individual merit tables, its congratulations to Darren Naylor of Lindal in Division 1 and Steve Hunter of West Shore in Division 2 who both will now go on to play in the Grand Masters.