Croftlands Park are the Bargain Booze Furness Premier League champions after Vickerstown reserves were unsurprisingly unable to make up a substantial deficit in goal difference, writes Steve Brennan.

Second-placed Vickerstown had to beat Haverigg United on Bank Holiday Monday by 13 goals to pip Croftlands, but after a gallant effort, the 4-1 win wasn’t enough in what has been one of the most exciting title run ins for years.

Danny Keenan (2), Brad Palfreyman and Jack Litherland scored for Mark Hammond’s side who can be proud of the runners-up spot given that the majority of the team have made the step up from last years under 16s.

Rio Wilson-McQuistan replied for Haverigg, but its congratulations to Croftlands, who win their second title in three seasons, amassing 61 points in the process.

Matt Dean and Chris Wraighte were their danger men as they scored 56 goals between them.

They now go into the Paul Wilson Memorial Trophy final this evening full of confidence, but Kirkby United who also had a strong season, will be hoping to pick up some silverware.

The match kicks off at 6.30pm at Holker Old Boys’ Rakesmoor Lane ground.

On Tuesday night, Barrow Wanderers added the Horne Cup to their league title with a 2-1 won against Bridge United.

Jordan Wallace and a superb Scott McDonald chip were enough to seal the cup. Reece Craig scored a spectacular effort for Bridge.

There is still a couple of remaining fixtures for our teams in the West Lancashire League, with Vickerstown rounding off their campaign in the Premier Division with an away game at Haslingden St Marys, while in Division Two, there’s a local derby as Furness Rovers head to Furness Cavaliers.