THE individual competitions for the Barrow Friday League will be decided this week when the British Legion Club hosts finals night.

Host club members Mike Smith and Paul Fieldhouse secured their places in the snooker decider after coming through last week's semis, which were held at Barrow Football Supporters Club and Vickerstown Cricket Club.

Smith progressed to the final with a 3-1 win over BFSC's Adam Cook, while Fieldhouse was up against clubmate Billy Burns at Vickerstown.

He completed a 3-0 whitewash over his fellow Legion player Burns to move into this Friday's showpiece match.

The billiards final will see two Legion players up against each other, with Alf Carruthers and Allan Edmondson winning in their respective semi-finals.

Carruthers overcame another of his clubmates, Tony Macmillian, in the race to 150 in their match at BFSC.

Meanwhile, Edmondson kept his hopes of an eighth-consecutive individual win alive by beating Peter Roberts. The final is 250 up.

Edmondson and team-mate Tony Norman also played in the welch don semi against last year’s winners Bob Taylor and John Rawlinson, but the Roose Cons pair ran out 2-0 winners.

The other two Roose players, Ray Cooney and Roberts, took on Alan Reid and Bill Bowes from the British Legion at crib and the latter won.

In the card semis at BFSC, Vickerstown pair Alan Edwards and David Holmes won 2-1 at crib against Kevin Quinn and Carruthers. They face Fieldhouse and Dave Macmillan, who beat Alan Reid and Bill Bowes earlier in the week.

Barrow Friday League individual finals

Snooker (best of seven): Mike Smith (British Legion) v Paul Fieldhouse (British Legion A). Billiards (250 up): Alf Carruthers (British Legion) v Allan Edmondson (British Legion).

Don (best of three): Bob Taylor/John Rawlinson (Roose Cons) v Allan Reid/Bill Bowes (British Legion A).

Crib (best of three): Alan Edwards/David Holmes (Vickerstown CC) v Paul Fieldhouse/Dave Macmillan (British Legion A).

Darts semi-finals (best of five): Dave Macmillan (British Legion A) v Shaun McPoland (British Legion A), Mike Fletcher (BFSC) v Keith Moscrop (British Legion A) (Final best of seven).