MISSING the final round of the HPE Autotest Championship did not prove a handicap for Peter Wright as he was crowned winner of his class this year’s series.

The Millom Mini driver finished 31 points ahead of second-placed Craig Stamper (Peugeot) in the FWD autotest class, with his impressive performances throughout the year meaning he had done enough to take the title even without contesting the final outing.

Below them, David Agnew (Porsche 911) managed his second tied position this year, but this time with Roger Pope of Cockermouth (Mini) with whom he tied for third place.

There was healthy competition for overall and class awards of the Wigton Motor Club series, and regular entries of between 25 and 35 drivers on each event.

Most of the events were held on sealed surfaces, with three being held on grass during the summer.

Elsewhere, the FWD PCA class saw Steve Palmer (Nova), of Maryport, leapfrog over Geoff Rae in the final event and take the top position with a 17-point advantage.

Dave Garner (Clio) took third spot with young Ben Rae coming just four points behind to give him the fourth place.

The RWD PCA class was dominated by Phil Hodgson (Mazda MX5), of Penrith, who won the class comfortably exactly double the number of points of second-placed Rob Iveson (Shap, MX5) who edged out Brian Iveson.