The full list of candidates vying for your vote in south Cumbria at the general election has been revealed.

According to the Electoral Commission, there are six candidates looking for your vote in the Barrow and Furness while in the Westmorland and Lonsdale constituency there are eight candidates standing.

Following the 2023 review of Westminster Constituencies, the Copeland constituency was abolished and the wards of Millom as well as Black Combe & Scafell will join the Barrow and Furness constituency area.

The MP for Barrow and Furness will represent towns and villages including Barrow, Dalton, Ulverston, Millom, Broughton, Askam and Kirkby in Parliament.

The Westmorland and Lonsdale constituency will also see changes to its boundaries at the election.

Previously, the constituency extended down to Kirkby Lonsdale in the south, and up to Rydal and Ambleside in the north.

The new constituency boundaries extend as far north as Milburn Forest, Temple Sowerby, the outskirts of Penrith up to the A66 and Hutton Roof. Kirkby Stephen, Appleby and Greystoke will also be moved into Westmorland and Lonsdale.

Burton, Kirkby Lonsdale and Sedbergh will become part of the Morecambe and Lunesdale constituency.

The Candidates

Barrow and Furness

Simon Fell – Conservative and Unionist Party

Barry Morgan – Reform UK

Lisa Morgan – Party Of Women

Michelle Scrogham – Labour Party

Adrian Waite – Liberal Democrats

Lorraine Wrennall – Green Party

Westmorland and Lonsdale

Phil Clayton – Green Party

Tim Farron- Liberal Democrats

Matty Jackman- Conservative and Unionist Party

Wendy Long – Social Democratic Party

Pippa Smith – Labour Party

Izzy Solabarrieta – Heritage Party

John Studholme – Independent

James Townley – Reform UK


The general election will be held on July 4.