WITH the General Election now set for July 4, many people will soon be voting for the Barrow and Furness MP for the first time after last year's boundary review. 

We have answered the questions you may have about what this will mean for your vote.

Why has the boundary changed?

The Boundary Commission reviews constituencies periodically to make sure they are all roughly a similar size and have the same population. 

Barrow and Furness's current constituency boundary has not been changed since 2010 and this was based on the electorate in 2000.

The latest boundary review, conducted last year, was much stricter than previous ones as a new Act of Parliament meant that constituencies must now have populations within five per cent of the 'electoral quota' of 73,393.  

Previously, up to 10 per cent variation had been accepted. The new Barrow and Furness will have an electorate of 76,603, according to the review. 

The 2023 boundary review will change the boundaries after the General Election, meaning that those currently living in another constituency within the new borders will be voting for the Barrow and Furness seat rather than the one they had voted for previously. 

Am I in the new Barrow and Furness constituency?

The Copeland seat, currently occupied by Trudy Harrison, will be abolished. Much of it will go to the new seat of Whitehaven and Workington, and Keswick will go to another new constituency called Penrith and Solway. 

However, all of Copeland from Ravenglass and Eskdale moving south will become part of Barrow and Furness. This will include Waberthwaite, Eskmeals, Corney and Bootle. The biggest town this will now include is Millom.

Those living in the electoral wards Millom Without and Millom, will be voting for Barrow and Furness in the upcoming election.

Will I have the same council?

Yes. Constituency boundaries are not related to the unitary authorities. All those living in Cumberland Council area will still be served by them, likewise with Westmorland and Furness.