Ulverston's Hoad monument is one of Cumbria's most prominent landmarks elevated 450ft on Hoad Hill's summit.

Built in 1851, the structure has seen many changes throughout history from its unique vantage point. 

It was built by public subscription with Trinity House donating £100 towards the cost of its construction on the condition that it could be used as a lighthouse if needed.

Despite its appearance, it has never actually housed a working light  - though in modern times it is often lit up externally for special causes. 

The Mail: School children from Ulverston Lower School play in front of the monument in 1912The 100 feet tall monument is built from limestone from Birkrigg Common and is a replica of British Civil Engineer's John Smeaton's Eddystone Lighthouse.

His iconic design was the third lighthouse built into the dangerous Eddystone Rocks 13 miles off the coast of Plymouth after the previous two structures had not fared well.

The structure was built to commemorate Sir John Barrow, a local hero from modest beginnings.

Sir John Barrow’s two sons, Sir George and John Barrow, laid the foundation stone at a ceremony held on May 15 1850 and was completed in January 1851.

Sir Barrow became the long-serving Second Secretary of the Admiralty for the Royal Navy. Sir After devoting his life to exploration and Barrow Point in Alaska and Barrow Straits in Canada are named after the man himself. 

The Mail: Milkman's horse passes by in the early 20th centuryThe monument can be seen from miles around and as such, has been captured in many historical photos contained in the Sankey online archive. 

The Sankeys were a local family and as photographers, captured life in and around Barrow in the early 20th century.

Take a look at the photographs selected in our archive to show the monument as far back as 1910 when the town was laregely sparse land and dry fields. 

Throughout the decades, the structure has been captured in the background of family photographs, schoolchildren playing and people playing sports.