Historic photos have managed to capture the opening moments of some of Barrow's most iconic landmarks.

The images were captured by local photographer family the Sankeys who documented life in Barrow over 70 years.

As such, they managed to capture the advent of some of the town's most iconic landmarks and the crowds that attended.

The building a bridge to Walney was considered a major engineering feat in 1908 so the opening of Walney Bridge was considered a momentous occasion.

The Mail: Walney Bridge Opening Ceremony in 1908 with Mayoress hidden behind podiumScores of people can be seen at the opening ceremony with Mayoress in attendance. The bridge was later re-named when the then Duchess of York (Late Queen Elizabeth II) and the Queen Mother attended its renaming to Jubilee Bridge in 1935 to mark the Silver Jubilee of King George V.

The opening of one of Barrow's famous Coast Road was also be seen.

Three ribbons can be seen stretched across the tarmac in 1924 with many onlookers present.

Colonel C.H.Bressey ,from the Ministry of Transport, opened the well-loved scenic road that links Ulverston and Barrow which has stunning views across Morecambe Bay.

Scores of people can also be seen piling into the opening of the free public library in Ramsden Square.

The growing population of Barrow in the 1910 and 20s meant that a larger library was needed. This saw a brand new construction at the junction of Abbey Road with Ramsden Square.

The building itself bears a date of 1915 although delays brought about by World War I meant that it wasn't actually completed and opened until 1922.

Earlier in 1907, crowds of women in ornate blouses, long skirts or dresses and ornate floral hats can be seen outside the King's Hall Wesleyan Methodist Church on Hartington Street.

Babies can also be spotted in very old-fashioned perambulators (prams).

The Mail: Ladies in ornate dress and med in formal dress at the opening of King's Hall in 1907Men in dark suits also had fancy hats donning caps, bowlers, homburgs and boater hats. A policeman can be seen to the left of the door. to keep to keep the crowds in check.

As travel was limited in those days, an opening event warranted such occasion wear and numerous crowds.

Such pomp can also be seen at the opening of the Salvation Army Hall in 1910. 

A crowd of people in formal dress can be seen looking back from the entrance and doorway of the then-new Salvation Army Hall.

The Salvation Army moved to its current home in 1910 when the movement made a significant commitment to the town by building the three storey-citadel, which in its day seated up to 1,250 people.

Anyone wanting to use the Sankey photos needs to ask permission to use the photos from Cumbria Archives and there may be a charge.