JUDGES were faced with a difficult task combing through the stack of entries submitted by readers.

The aim of the South Cumbria Community Heroes Awards is to celebrate those who go the extra mile in their towns and villages, and to recognise the achievements and dedication of volunteers.

Everyone who was nominated should be proud that they were thought of but, as with any awards, there has to be a winner.

Listed below are all the people and groups who have been shortlisted and who will be invited to attend the ceremony on October 11 at the Abbey House Hotel in Barrow.

The winner of the Person of the Year, which is sponsored by GlaxoSmithKline, and the ‘Special Award’, supported by Cumbria’s Police and Crime Commissioner, will be announced on the evening.

Best Community Project

Dalton Community Association

Ambleside Parish Centre

SAFA Cumbria

Carer of the Year

Chloe Capovila

Lisa Rooke

Good Friend

Lucy Armstrong

Chapelle Cooper

Good Neighbour

Christine Fisher

Helping Hand

Jane Reedy

Cedric Robinson

School Worker of the Year

James Maher

Sporting Hero

Ian Irwin

John Atkinson

Unsung Hero

Leone Edwards

Peter Winston

Margaret Burrow

Volunteer of the Year

Barbara Russell

Eddie Harrison

Patricia Hovey

Young Achiever of the Year

Asha Eva-Dodsworth

Emie Seward