Theresa May has won her vote of confidence to stay as leader of the Conservatives - but has told her party's MPs she will not lead them into the next general election.

The Prime Minister faced a revolt with Conservative MPs triggering the vote this morning.

After a day of political posturing, voting took place between 6pm and 8pm and at 9pm the chairman of the Tories' 1922 Committee Graham Brady MP announced Mrs May had won the vote 200 to 117.

However, Mrs May had already announced she would not lead the party into the 2022 general election.

And she received an enthusiastic welcome as she addressed Conservative MPs at the backbench 1922 Committee moments before the crucial vote began at 6pm, with backers banging their desks to show their support.

Afterwards, solicitor general Robert Buckland told reporters: “She said ‘In my heart I would like to lead the party into the next election’ and then that was the introductory phrase to her indication that she would accept the fact that that would not happen, that is not her intention.”

And Cabinet minister Amber Rudd said: “She was very clear that she won’t be taking the general election in 2022.”