REIGNING Evening Mail Open champion Russ Henry is back to defend his title in Saturday's eagerly-anticipated competition at Furness.

Henry lifted the Festival of Britain trophy for the second time last year after also winning it in 2013.

The Ulverston Golf Club member, who learnt his trade on the Furness fairways 20-odd years ago, carded a nett round of 64, to beat home member Tom Atkinson by a single stroke.

Henry will face stiff competition as he bids for a hat-trick of successes, with close to 100 players having signed up for this year's battle on the picturesque Walney links.

The course is in great nick, with greenkeeper Alick McKay and his team earning glowing praise for how it played during the recent pro-am, was held as part of the celebrations for the club’s 145th anniversary.

Entries are still being taken for the Evening Mail Open. Players can enter via the club website at or by calling 01229 471232.


7.30am: P Pedley, P McGlown, D Lipscombe; 7.39am: J Truman, P Hewitson, S Calvert; 7.48am: B Venton, I Gomersall, G Troth;. 7.57am: G Waterworth, D Carter, A Scanlon.

8.06am: M Gasson, A Robinson, T Kay; 8.15am: M Leitch, P Brown, A Broadbent; 8.42am: G Park, S McDonald R Crawford; 8.51am: J Sharp R Corkill, A Woodhouse.

9am: B Walker, A Corkill, P Trelore; 9.09am: D Yates, T Russell, R Sanders; 9.36am: T Mason, A Kerr, P Evans; 9.45am: D Crabtree, L Sanderson, S Dunn; 9.54am: R Dack, B Kay, J Stevens.

10.03am: J Weir (Penrith), G Sharp (Penrith), C Holland; 10.39: J Clarke, M Bushby (Silecroft), J Hughes; 10.48am: R Spence, P Southward, R Leitch; 10.57am: J Mellor (Whitehaven), A Bond, P Towers (Ulverston).

11.06am: A Brown, I Anderson, G Flemming; 11.15am: K Henry, R Henry (Ulverston), C Macgranthin; 11.24am: K Gordon, J Forristal, D Finlayson; 11.33am: P Armistead.

Noon: A Allencross (Shirley), I White (Lansil), G Radcliffe; 12.09pm: J Chorley, S Killip, R Babbs; 12.18pm: D Marwood, J Clements, A O'Kane; 12.27pm: S Clawley, S Tippins, S McAlonne; 12.36pm: S Taylor, B Hackett (Barrow), D Barnes; 12.45pm: G Farquhar (Silecroft), P Garner (Silecroft), D Day; 12.54pm: Captain, M Ellis, S Day.

1.03pm: A Dutton, B Mahon (C of Newcl), M Dickson (Ulverston); 1.48pm: M Diamond, J Capstick, B Cowperthwaite (G); 1.57pm: D Sharp, P Grainger (Barrow), I Lourie.

2.06pm: R Carter (Barrow), K Sheppherd (Barrow), A N Other (Barrow); 2.15pm: J Bushby.

THhe latest competition results from South Cumbria's golf clubs are as follows.

Grange Fell: Midweek Medal 1: 1. J Woodhouse, 77-10=67; 2. JR Moore, 82-15=67; 3. J Jennings, 91-22=69. Best Gross: D Moore, 79. Twos: K Pearson, D Lomas.

Barry Newton Trophy (Stableford): 1. G Wilson, 43 pts; 2. JR Moore, 39 pts; 3. D Lomas, 38 pts. Twos. C Cowperthwaite, G Porter and P Mason (2).

Furness: Dougie Hickton: 1 I Pearson and A Robinson, 51pts; 2. P Roberts and W Venton, 45pts.

Fort Tankard: 1. L McNulty, 71-4=67; 2. D Marwood, 73-6=67. Division One: N Tippins, nett 70. Division Two: J Stevens, nett 71. Division Three: G Park, nett 73. Nearest the pin. N Tippins.

Barrow: Kay Morrison and Jackie Evans Memorial: 1. live Smith, 72-6=66; 2. Oliver Booth, 89-21=68 (cpo); 3. Aaron Bell, 80-12==68 (cpo); 4. Jason Keane, 80-12=68 (cpo).