A 43-run victory for Kirkby over Hawcoat Park was not enough to send the North Lancashire & Cumbria League Division One title to the final week of the season as Egremont clinched the title despite their match being abandoned due to rain, writes Colin Bickerstaffe.

The match at Hawcoat saw Kirkby go in first and their innings was dominated by Rob Fugler, who scored 92 to help his side reach 193 all out from their 50 overs.

After tea it was Kirkby’s bowling duo of Alistair Bradley and Mark Etchells, who returned impressive figures of 5 for 17 and 5 for 31 as Hawcoat were shot out for just 50 in 16 overs.

But results elsewhere ensured they could not be crowned champions as four points proved enough to take Egremont over the line.

Having first knock at home to Seascale, Egremont were indebted to Mark Ponticelli scoring 53 not out in their total of 151 for 8. The visitors’ Andrew Knott took 3 for 30 in 10 overs.

Seascale were 45 for 1, with Paul Knott on 34 not out, when rain prevented any more play, which ensured Egremont were crowned Division One champions for 2018 and earned promotion to the Premier Division for next year.

Ulverston moved above Furness’ second team in the standings after warming up for the following day’s Marsden Cup final with a six-wicket win at Furness Park.

Batting first, Furness finished on 183 all out in the 50th over, with Brad Chapples top-scoring for the home side 54 and Matthew Rogerson adding 31.

Pick of Ulverston’s bowling was Samson Storey, who took 3 for 26.

In reply, Ulverston went on to secure a comfortable win in the 31st over by reaching their target just four wickets down.

Ben Atkinson led the way for the visitors with 56 not out and A James added 35.

Vickerstown were unable to build on a positive start to their reply as they lost by 35 runs away to Workington’s second team.

Gareth Benson took 3 for 53 and scorer John Donnan took two consecutive wickets as Vickerstown wrapped up Workington’s innings for 173.

But only three Vickerstown batsmen made double figures as they were all out for 138.

And Barrow seconds lost by 10 wickets at Cockermouth seconds after being all out for 48.