RISHI Dhawan starred with both bat and ball for Furness as they saw off Millom by 63 runs in a low-scoring first game of the weekend’s double-header.

The sides clashed in both the North Lancashire and Cumbria Cricket League Premier Division on Saturday followed by going head-to-head in the Higson Cup semi-finals on Sunday, with Furness triumphing on both occasions.

The league meeting saw the Furness batting was well short of its usual standard after losing the toss and being put into bat. Overseas professional Dhawan top-scored with 42, and Sam Dutton added a valuable 36 as the visitors were 153 all out in the 40th over. Millom’s Billy Thompson took 4 for 16 in 5.5 overs.

But in reply, hosts Millom could not handle the bowling of the Furness’ Indian all-rounder Dhawan and only Paul O’Callaghan, batting at number 10, went past 20 with his tally of 31 as Millom were dismissed for 90 inside 21 overs.

Dhawan took 7 for 40 in 10 overs, and Peter Lawson, 3 for 40 in 9.2 overs.

The Higson Cup semi-final the following day at Furness saw a much-improved batting performance from Millom as they racked up 209 for 8 from their 45 overs, with skipper Mike Wilson and Sameera Sadamal both making 42. Josh Shaw took 5 for 45 from six overs for Furness.

But an unbeaten 129 from just 111 balls from Nathan Waterston set Furness on course to chase down the target, which they did with just under 10 overs to spare to book a return to the Higson Cup final.

Back in the Premier Division on Saturday, the match between the bottom two of Lindal Moor and Haverigg began with the top order of the hosts collapsing to be 34 for 4.

Then skipper Edward Waind joined Callum McDougall and they took the score to 146, when Waind was out for 76. Paul Wilcock then partnered McDougall, who was run out for 40. Wilcock made a valuable 39, and the Moor were 217 all out in the 48th over.

In a steady start to the reply, Haverigg skipper and opener Drew Postlethwaite made 34, and his brother Jordan added 40. Professional Roy Kaia went for 28 at 123 for 4, but Haverigg wickets then fell regularly and they were all out for 171.

Lindal professional Keshan Wijerathne returned 6 for 38 in 15 overs, and Lee Hogg 3 for 26 in 8.2 overs as Moor sealed only their second win of the season by 42 runs.

Dalton were made to field first in their match at Wigton after the hosts won the toss and their innings was dominated by skipper Nico Watts, who hit a score of 120 which contained 14 fours and one six.

Good support came from Mikey Hill, 39, John Reed, 38, Mike Slack,37, and professional Theo Manihera, with 30, which saw Wigton to 308 for 8 at tea.

Dalton’s innings had a terrible start, with the top four all back in the shed with three ducks and a score of 8 between them. Professional Winstone Masahadza,with 33, and Danny Sharp’s score of 30 aided a slight recovery, but Dalton slumped to 127 all out in the 30th over. Wigton’s Mikey Hill took three wickets in 11 balls without conceding a run.

There were 570 runs in the game at Keswick, where Workington had first knock. The Moffat brothers, Kristian with 95,and Callum, 60, led the way. Professional Kaushalya Gajasinghe made an unbeaten 56, and Grant Reid, 39, and at tea the visitors were 308 for 7. Keswick’s pro Geeth Kumara took 4 for 58 in his 15 overs.

Keswick also liked the pitch and another big innings of 91 from Kumara, 43 not out from wicketkeeper Stephen Moss and 35 from Scott McGown saw Keswick to 262 for 9 when overs ran out. Matthew Lowden took 3 for 29 in 8 overs.

Choosing to bat against Whitehaven, Cockermouth soon lost both openers, but the remaining top order hammered the bowling attack, as Matthew Sempill hit 56 with six fours, and Greg Platten 50 with six fours and one six to take their side to 176 for 4.

Professional Haseeb Azam kept the scoreboard moving, and when overs ran out he was unbeaten on 63 containing seven fours and one six, and Cockermouth were 214 for 6.

Whitehaven’s Habib Baloch took 4 for 48 in his 15 overs. In reply, Whitehaven gave another disappointing batting display to be all out for 95 in the 27th order. Haseeb Azam returned 5 for 20 in 8 overs and Chris Hodgson,4 for 16 in 7 overs.

The match between Cleator Moor and Carlisle will be played at a later date.