Derby County 0 Barrow 0 (Derby win 3-2 on penalties): Barrow took their first confident steps as an EFL club again in an absorbing Carabao Cup clash with Derby.

It required a narrow penalty shoot-out victory for the Championship outfit to edge past David Dunn’s side.

The Bluebirds could have made it an even more memorable occasion having enjoyed some good chances in the first half.

Dunn’s side, including a number of debutants, crafted the best chance 21 minutes in as Dior Angus broke through the right side and got into the box, but he was denied well by Rams keeper Kelle Roos.

There was another opening soon after when Jack Hindle seized on some hesitant Derby defending to get clear on the edge of the box, but his skilful attempted chip drifted just the wrong side of the far post.

Derby did not take the repeated attacks from Barrow lightly and mounted various counter-attacks, but still found themselves without a goal.

Barrow, having put on an impressive first half, took the same energy into the second with a display that will have encouraged fans as they step back up into the Football League.

Derby had by then gone close when Matt Clarke steered a header wide from a corner before Jason Knight drilled in a low shot but it was straight at Barrow keeper Joel Dixon.

The hosts had plenty of possession afterwards without often troubling Dixon, while Hindle drove a shot narrowly wide for the visitors.

Jack Marriott had a shot deflected wide while Lee Buchanan sent in some teasing crosses, but the Rams found themselves unable to find a way through the resolute Barrow defence, leading the tie to penalties.

Hindle, Harrison Biggins, Lewis Hardcastle, Tom Beadling and Angus stepped up for the Bluebirds, with Derby’s penalties taken by Mordan Whittaker, Graeme Shinnie, Max Bird, Jack Marriott and George Evans.

Whittaker opened the scoring for the Rams before Hindle missed for Barrow.

Barrow got their first goal from Biggins, but the same was seen from Shinnie.

The next four shots each fell short, Angus then netting for Barrow before Evans clinched the tie for Phillip Cocu’s hosts.

It was the first time that Barrow have competed in the League Cup in 49 years.

The Rams took the decision not to include player-coach Wayne Rooney in their team, however they did welcome a return of full-back Andre Wisdom.

Derby: Roos; Forsyth, te Wierik, Bird, Marriott, Clarke (Whittaker 61), Sibley (Wisdom 84), Evans, Holmes (Shinnie 56), Buchanan, Knight. Not used: Ravas, Davies, Shonibare, Solomon.

Barrow: Dixon; Brown, Platt (Hird 79), J Jones, Hardcastle, Kay (Wilson 68), M Jones (Biggins 77), Beadling, Angus, Hindle, Ntlhe. Not used: Taylor, Gribbin, Penfold, James.