THE Bootle Scrambles Club were fortunate enough to run their latest event before the dreaded coronavirus brought the curtain down on most motorcycling activities.

They hosted the first round of the KIA National Twinshock Championship attracting competitors from all over the country.

The 10.30am start saw over 100 competitors set off to tackle two routes; the Experts and the Clubmans, laid out by club stalwart Joel Gowan on the Fell Green Courses just outside Bootle.

The weather was again kind and everyone had a good day’s sport. Around 20 of the clubs’ regular observers marked each rider's performance as they tackled the various sections.

Sponsors KIA showed their appreciation to the officials and observers by providing chocolates, shortbread biscuits and a glass of wine prior to the event.

They also had a draw for the observers with the first three names out of the hat receiving £100, £50, and £25 respectively.

It was good to see many familiar names and faces from the Furness area competing, many on unfamiliar machines as this event catered mainly for twin shock bikes only.

The top locals were Stephen Dixon from Grasmere who’s no stranger to the Fell Green Courses and Coniston’s Chris Myers.

Dixon took the honours in the Expert Class on his Yamaha with a loss of just one mark while Myers, riding a Tribsa, won the Clubmans Britshock class with a loss of just six marks.

As always, the club would like to thank all the officials, observers and landowners etc who gave up their time to make the event possible.



Twinshock: 1. Stephen Dixon (Yamaha, 1 mark lost), 2, Roger Williams (Fantic, 3), 3. Eddie Aitken (Honda, 5). Monoshock: 1. Alexander Lennox (Yamaha, 5), 2. Colin Ward (Yamaha, 7), 3. Mark Carradus (Beta, 9).

Pre-1978 machines: 1. Richard Pulman (Montesa, 10), 2. Stuart Blythe (Bultaco, 13, 3. Darren Mitchell (Bultaco, 25)


Twinshock: 1) Martin Gilbert (Fantic, 4), 2) Michael Platt (Fantic, 12), 3. Paul Norman (RTX150, 14). Monoshock: 1. Keith Burgess (Yamaha, 10), 2. Stephen Burgess (Yamaha, 11), 3. Derek Wilson (Yamaha, 12).

Britshock: 1. Chris Myers (Tribsa, 6), 2. Peter Bryn Edwards (BSA, 8), 3. Richard Hildrick (500 Triumph, 10).

Pre-1978 Machines: 1. Paul Pulman (Yamaha, 17), 2. David Matthews (Bultaco, 29), 3. Paul Cook (Montesa, 31).