There was a 'home' one-two at this year's Kirkby fell race, as Black Combe Runners' Harry Stainton finished ahead of clubmate Josh Hartley to claim the win.

A busy year for BCR on the fells came to an end when the club organised the race over a seven-mile course (1,650ft ascent) on Kirkby Moor, which took in five checkpoints.

It was also their last Club Championships counter fell race and the event was well supported as over a quarter of the field was made up of Green and Blacks.

Following heavy rain in the previous few days, there were muddy conditions underfoot for most of the race, for which a good entry of 82 runners toed the line for the 11am start outside.

A lung-busting road climb gave way to open fell as competitors had to visit checkpoints including Grey Crags, Shooting House Hill and Bank House Moor.

A new flagged section next to the Ulverston road was put in following new fencing being erected, causing a slight alteration to the course. The last half-mile was a fast, mostly road, downhill to the finish, and it was there that witnessed BCR's fell running sensation Hartley just lose his battle with Stainton, who won in a brilliant time of 52mins 17secs.

Hartley was just eight seconds behind, while last year's winner John Henegan (Pudsey & Bramley AC) finished third, in 53:00.

Joe Woodley (Dark Peak Fell Runners) was fourth, arriving in a very respectable 54:03, his time demonstrating the gap the leading trio had built up on the rest of the field.

The ladies race was a one-horse affair as Ambleside AC's Beth Hanson went on to win in a great time of 61:26, well outside the course record, but good given the poor underfoot conditions.

Oxford University AC's Natalie Beadle clocked 62:34 to finish second and BCRs' Anna Lupton finished a very worthy third lady in 63:20.

Mary Ockenden (Bowland Fell Runners) was pleased with her 79:04 clocking, which also scooped the LV60 category prize.

Of the other BCRs in the race, Tim ripper was eighth overall in 56:20, John Millen arrived at 60:31 and Gavin Lloyd's time of 61:16 was good enough to give him the male under-23 prize.

Also running well were Matthew Allen (63:23), Robert Coupe (63:59), Peter Coupe (64:29), Richard Walker (65:11), Damian Jones (66:44), John Parminter (67:04), Nick Sebley (67:30), Patrick McIver (69:28), Jess Lawrence (70:45), Steve Wathall (72:38), Jonathan Bailey (74:46), Mike Jewell (75:00), Susan Ross (75:46), Julian Donnelly (76:08), Chris Roberts (76:47), James Goffe (81:23) and Karl Fursey (1:41.24).