There were joint winners of the Furness Phantoms' MVP prize this year, with Dave Oakley and Kyle Murphy taking the top honour at the club's annual awards night.

The Ulverston-based Phantoms, the only American football team in South Cumbria, held their ceremony last Saturday, as they looked back on a tricky season where they won twice in eight games in Division Two North of the BAFA National League.

Dan Marshall walked away with the Offensive Player of the Year prize while Alex Galbraith won the Defensive Player award for his work in keeping the opposition at bay.

The rookies in the squad were also recognised for the improvement they showed during their first year with the team, with Chris Paine and Paul Campbell taking the Offensive and Defensive awards, respectively during the night

Amongst the other winners were Robin Noak, who was named the Most Improved Player, and Chris Pedley, who was voted the Iron Man of the squad.

With their campaign over, the Phantoms have some post-season events planned, which includes rookie taster sessions at Pulse Soccer in Barrow in January and their annual Super Bowl Live event the following month, with the venue yet to be confirmed.