Former Barrow Island forward Morgan Knowles has missed out on a place in the Great Britain squad for their tour of New Zealand and Papua New Guinea due to injury.

Knowles finished off a hugely impressive season by scoring the opening try for St Helens in their 23-6 victory against Salford Red Devils in the Super League Grand Final at Old Trafford last Saturday.

The Wales international was expected to be named in coach Wayne Bennett’s 24-man squad for what is Great Britain’s first appearance on the international stage since 2007.

However, like his Saints teammates James Roby, Mark Percival and Tommy Makinson, he has had to withdraw, joining the likes of Sam Burgess and Sean O’Loughlin on the sidelines.

There is one Barrow connection in the squad, however, in the form of Huddersfield winger Jermaine McGillvary, who spent time on loan with the Raiders in 2010.

Among the most notable names picked for the tour is Zak Hardaker, who is set to make his first international appearance since 2015 after earning a recall thanks to his good form with Wigan this season.

James Graham of St George Illawarra has been named captain, while there are three Australian-born players in the mix in Super League Man of Steel Jackson Hastings (Salford), Blake Austin (Warrington) and Lachlan Coote (St Helens).

The Lions will open their tour against Tonga on October 26 before playing two Tests against New Zealand and rounding off against PNG, who could include Barrow Raiders’ Stargroth Amean and Wartovo Puara in their squad.

Great Britain Lions squad for their tour of New Zealand and Papua New Guinea

J Graham (St George Illawarra, capt), B Austin (Warrington), J Bateman (Canberra), T Burgess (South Sydney), D Clark (Warrington), J Connor (Hull FC), L Coote (St Helens), O Gildart (Wigan), Z Hardaker (Wigan), J Hastings (Salford), R Hall (Sydney Roosters), C Hill (Warrington), J Hodgson (Canberra), J Hughes (Warrington), J Jones (Salford), J Lomax (St Helens), J McGillvary (Huddersfield), J Philbin (Warrington), L Thompson (St Helens), J Trueman (Castleford), A Walmsley (St Helens), E Whitehead (Canberra), G Widdop (St George Illawarra), G Williams (Wigan).