In this week’s Deltawaite Ltd Furness Senior Citizens’ League, the curtain came down on the season with the playing of the final round of fixtures.

The outcome was the same as that of 12 months ago when the first three teams in the table were perennial table-toppers Hawcoat Park , Co-op SC and King Alfred.

A year on, the same three sides occupy the same positions. All three sides finished on a high as champions Hawcoat Park won 8-3 at Salthouse, where Tony Kneale’s (21-5) single figure win enabled him to pip colleagues Barry Christian and Bob Parkinson on the post to claim the division’s Merit title.

Co-op were held by Barrow Island, with both sides taking four games each, although the former took the aggregate points to win 7-4.

King Alfred proved too strong for an under-strength Dalton CC, winning 8-3.

At the other end of the table the fate of the relegated sides had already been decided, with last season’s two promoted sides, Co-op SC A and Barrow Island A, being unable to bridge the gap between the two divisions.

In their final games in the top flight for at least a season, Co-op A were defeated 7-4 by Walney Park, while Barrow Island A lost 7-3 at Ulverston Cons.

Co-op shared the games four each in their match, but were unable to claim the aggregate points.

In the Second Division, Glaxo SK had already won the title with second place going to West Mount.

In the case of West Mount, having suffered relegation last season, they were able to bounce straight back.

Glaxo suffered an 8-2 defeat at the hands of Walney Park A, to round off their campaign, while West Mount dismantled their ‘A’ team 9-1, for whom their sole winner was William Heaton.

King Alfred A also dropped only one game in their 9-1 thrashing of Dalton CC A, which was a scoreline repeated at Roose A's victory at home to Hawcoat Park C. Park's 'B' team ran out 8-2 winners against Salthouse A.

The Merit Award for the Division went to long-time leader Mike Askew of Glaxo SK, who was one of two winners at Walney Park.

The league would like to thank Deltawaite Ltd for their continued sponsorship and support throughout 2019.