Furness finished off their season in the Federation of Crown Green Bowls Division Four with a narrow 18-14 defeat against Harrogate ARA.

The consolation for Furness, however, was that the result was enough to keep them in the division next season and relegate their opponents.

At home, Furness started brightly winning three of the opening four games as Barry Lowden recovered from 13-7 down to win 21-15, while Chris Irvine after a slow start won 21-8 and Tony Whitehouse came back from 9-5 behind to score a 12 break before winning 21-12.

Glenis McDonald unluckily lost 21-16, while Nigel Burns lost 21-5 and Jeff Hinde 21-8 before 14-year-old Ethan Lowden bowled brilliantly to win 21-16.

Ben Wright won 21-16 from 10-1 down, but Lee Barnard from 7-6 up lost 21-8 to some superb bowling. Chris Johnson used his green knowledge to win to 16, while Paul Thompson hit a purple patch to turn a 12-16 deficit into a 21-13 victory.

The away leg was played on the Bilton Dragon bowling green, where Danny Rogers got off to a flying start and was 12-0 and 15-5 up before eventually being defeated 21-18

Graham Rigg was up against a top bowler who used his green knowledge to full effect and he lost 8-21, while Stuart Aspinall was edged out 21-16.

Steve Fullard played a home bowler and led 14-6 lead before his opponent closed the gap to 14-13, before he got back in to win 21-16.

Jon Richardson played a late replacement for Harrogate, Roy Flynn, and bowled very well to hold his nerve and bowled some crucial bowls to eventually win 21-16.

Kristian Ogilvie was making his debut for Furness and he showed great determination to win an evenly matched game 21-20. Tommy Richardson had an excellent performance with some accurate bowling and he won 21-18.

Furness man-of-the-match was Darren Mountford, who has won all three games he has played for Furness this year, the latter two being away, with the latest being a 21-17 win.

Furness won the home leg 7-5 on games and an aggregate by three chalks for a 9-5 win, but lost the away leg 7-5 on games and the aggregate by 29 chalks, giving Harrogate a 9-5 win.

Harrogate won the overall aggregate 435-409 to collect the extra four points to claim victory.

Furness will be joined in division 4 next year by relegated Mid Cheshire and South Lancashire along with promoted sides Ormskirk and Mon Menai.

Results of the home leg played at the Co-op SC were:

Barry Lowden 21 Steve Walker 15

Chris Irvine 21 Tony Derrick 8

Tony Whitehouse 21 Phil Hill 12

Glenis McDonald 16 Paul Worsnop 21

Jeff Hinde 8 Peter Syson 21

Ethan Lowden 21Gordon Flower 16

Nigel Burns 5 Andy Gilroy 21

Ben Wright 21 Robert Maude 16

Lee Barnard 8 Chris Rigby 21

Chris Johnson 21 Chris England 16

Paul Thompson 21 Andrew Dodsworth 13

Paul Clark 20 Adam Varley 21.

Results of the away leg played at Bilton Dragon BC were:

Danny Rogers 18 Mark Reynolds 21

Graham Rigg 8 Bobby Coker 21

Stuart Aspinall 16 Tom Beecroft 21

Steve Fullard 21 Clare Howes 16

Jon Richardson 21 Martin Hemmingway 16

Kristian Ogilvie 21 Barrie Sugden 20

Ryan Smith 11 Carol Sunter 21

Tommy Richardson 21 Chaz Charleton 18

Andy Rigg 12 David Hodgson 21

Darren Mountford 21 Steve Cochrane 17

Danny Edmonds 19 Allan Whitaker 21

Roger Barrow 16 Brian Walker 21.