The 2019 edition of The Mail darts competition gets under way later in the month, with 18 players aiming to reach the main draw when the preliminary round takes place in the Dalton and Barrow areas.

With the round due to be completed by July 28, Jordan Lowe will be playing Col Wright for the chance to face Leni Irvine in the first round of the Barrow area, while Craig Mansell will face the winner of event organiser Chris Irvine and Dale Miles.

The other matches will see Dan Cottam take on Jo Wainwright and Jason Ward go up against Steve Barker, while the other five ties will be taking place in the Dalton & District area.

Brian Moncur will look to get the better of Jack Cairns, with Brad Baker coming up against Marc Luscombe, while Kev Beaumont will go head-to-head with Phil Myers.

The other two ties will be between Sean Miles and Lewis Gribbin, and John Ainsworth and Ian Iveson.

The first round of the competition is to be played by August 25 in Barrow and September 20 in Dalton, in which 64 players across the two areas will be taking part, with 63 of them looking to topple last year's winner, James Kempster.

Kempster looks to retain his title with a prelim match against fellow Castle B team player, Jason Ward.

Other Barrow first round matches to watch out for see Tommy Richardson with a tough test against the Red River's Richie Hall, who are both previous finals night players.

In-form Ross Rimmer will have to be on form to overcome the ever improving Furness CC man Ryan Griffiths.

In the Dalton & District area, ex-Mail champion Steve Callister finds himself a tricky test up against up-and-coming Shane Woods of Ulverston.

All games are to be played best of five legs throughout the event until the Grand Final night on November 30 at Cloud Nine with the bust rule applying.

The draw for the second round will take place in the week after the deadline for the first round draw. All results are to be sent to Irvine on 07792099968 by call or text.

The Dalton & District area final will take place at the Duddon Sports and Social Club on October 5 and Cloud Nine will host the Barrow final two weeks later, with the 20 players who come through those going on to the Grand Final.