Furness played their second match in the Dennis Mowers-sponsored Federation of Crown Green Bowls Division Four Championship against South Lakes recently, as they went down to a 21-11 defeat.

Playing the home leg on the Walney Park Bowling Green, the Furness squad, without 11 of the 24 players who played in the opening match against Bradford, made a good start in winning three of the opening four games.

Lee Barnard took only 18 ends to win 21-3, while Glenis McDonald who led 16-9, saw of tough opponent Barry Simm 21-15 and 17-year-old Callum Sharples closed his game out 21-14, but Chris Irvine fell to a 21-17 loss.

Darren Mountford bowled well to win 21-14 against David Brown, while seven twos helped Jeff Hinde to a 21-12 win over James Duffin. Peter Harris lost out 21-13 against Tony Hunter, while it was déjà vu for Ian McDonald who lost 21-15 to Byron Williams.

Matthew Ryder bowled superbly to beat Steve Greenway 21-14, with 16-year-old Ryan Smith being edged out 21-19 by Wayne Downham.

Late replacement Billy Harding proved too strong for Aidan Milliard, winning 21-8, before Paul Kissock defeated Paul Thompson 21-15.

The Highfield Recreation Ground Bowling green was a very tricky green for the Furness away team to play on.

Kieren Clark mastered the green, however, to win 21-10, while 14-year-old Fraser Rigg gave a good account of himself to get 17. Paul Wrathall put in an outstanding performance in winning 21-15.

Colin Knight lost 6-21, Dan Monks 10-21, Jon Richardson 13-21, Andy Rigg 14-21, before Paul Clark let a 17-13 lead slip as his opponent ran out.

This resulted in Furness winning the home leg 7-5 and an aggregate advantage of 42 chalks for a 9-5 win.

The Furness away team lost 10-2 on games and lost the aggregate by 68 chalks, giving South Lakes a 12-2 win.

Furness lost the overall aggregate 394-420, leaving South Lakes to collect an extra four points.

Home leg results

Chris Irvine 15 James Dennison 21

Glenis McDonald 21 Barry Simm 15

Lee Barnard 21 Arnie Smith 3

Callum Sharples 21 Paul Dennison 14

Darren Mountford 21 David Brown 14

Jeff Hinde 21 James Duffin 12

Peter Harris 13 Tony Hunter 21

Ian McDonald 15 Byron Williams 21

Matthew Ryder 21 Steve Greenway 14

Ryan Smith 19 Wayne Downham 21

Billy Harding 21 Aidan Milliard 8

Paul Thompson 18 Paul Kissock 21

Away leg results

Sandra Rigg 6 David Cragg 21

Kieren Clark 21 David Clarkson 10

Stuart Aspinall 18 Richard Woodruff 21

Tommy Richardson 12 Dave Jones 21

John Reilly 12 Ian Liley 21

Fraser Rigg 17 Keith Lowther 21

Paul Wrathall 21 Andy Thomas 15

Colin Knight 6 Danny Kirkby 21

Dan Monks 10 Peter Shallis 21

Jonny Richardson 13 Danny Lofthouse 21

Andy Rigg 14 Alan Parry 21

Paul Clark 17 David Liley 21