Furness Cricket Club continued their dominance of the South Cumbria T20 Cup by defeating Lindal Moor by three wickets in last Sunday's final at Haverigg.

It is the sixth year in a row that Furness, who also lead the Cumbria Cricket League, have won the competition and it is their eighth title in nine years, although they were given a scare in the semi-finals by Dalton.

Lewis Woodend took two wickets in two balls, including that of the dangerous Nathan Waterston and the favourites slid to 60-5 halfway through their innings after Brad Chapples was out for 40.

However, Furness rallied in the final ten over overs to post a competitive 130-9, which Dalton couldn't chase down as they eventually finished on 112-9, giving Furness and 18-run victory.

That booked them a place in the final against Lindal, who had earlier defeated Millom, who had topped the group stage, by six wickets.

An opening stand of 113 between captain Danny Fellows and Sameera Sadamal (who both made 54) helped Millom to set a challenging target of 163-4, with Max Winskill claiming 4-25.

However, Sri Lankan pro Janith de Silva inspired his side to victory, as he smashed a fantastic 80 off just 43 balls to help Lindal to victory with five deliveries to spare.

He was ably assisted by an unbeaten 49 from Ryan Gilmour, while Millom's Paul O'Callaghan impressed with the ball in taking 3-28.

In the final itself, de Silva was the dangerman for Lindal again, but his top score of 45 could only help them to 117-3, as Furness' bowlers did a great containment job.

Despite a bright 35 from opener Garry Thompson, it was still anybody's game with five overs of Furness' chase remaining as they still required 38 runs.

But an unbroken fourth-wicket partnership between Chapples (25*) and Sachith Pathirana (26*) eventually guided them to glory, with the latter's four off the final ball of the 19th over finishing it off.