Hoad Hill Harriers member Sally Barton shattered her personal best while competing at the annual Keswick Mountain Festival last Saturday.

Barton was one of three Harriers who travelled up, although she was the only one to compete in the 10km race, in which she was third-quickest over-50s veteran to finish.

Her time of one hour, three minutes 55 seconds was ten minutes quicker than he previous best and it allowed her to finish 33rd overall out of the 257 who ran.

Clubmate Simon Barton ran in the 5km and he also managed a personal best by clocking a superb 24:01, while he was the fastest over-60s veteran and the 34th finisher overall out of 373.

Christine Winder competed in the same race and crossed the line in 32:55.

Four Hoadies ran in the Windermere Brathay Marathon last Sunday and Julie Hunter was the first to finish, doing so in an excellent time of 3:58:27.

Deborah Yearnshire completed the race just outside four hours, crossing the line in 4:03:20, while Karl Fursey (5:30:21) and Penny Moreton (5:57:18) were the other two Harriers involved.

Also in Windermere, Lauren Booth was the fastest woman in the Brathay 5km, as she clocked 22:40 to finish ninth overall.

Stephanie Gillies was also strong in running 23:50 to finish as the third-fastest woman and the 14th-quickest runner overall, while Darren Coward finished seventh in the race in 20:40.

There were also several members taking part in half-marathons, with Richard Walker (1:21:38), Alistair Macdonald (1:47:48) and Helen Walker (1:48:21) all competing at Chester.

In Manchester meanwhile, Tom Southward completed the race in 1:29:01 while Kath Whipple clocked 2:00:41.

At the Pilling 10km last Saturday, Gary Dover produced a terrific run in 38:56 to become the first over-55s veteran to cross the finish line, while Heather Travis ran a personal best of 44:54 and Ken Lamb finished in 50:59.

Finally, there were some notable performances at the various parkruns, with Andrew Dorrian (17:52) winning the one at Ford Park, while there were personal bests for Oliver Morris, James Corbishley and Justin Corbishley.