Furness Cricket Club were knocked out of the ECB National Club Championship last Sunday, as they were defeated by 49 runs by a strong Longridge side in the second round of the competition.

Furness may have fancied their chances after bowling their visitors out for 171, but were then rolled out for just 122 in reply, as opening bowler Jonathan Millward ripped through their top order in taking five wickets.

Just a day removed from hammering Barrow in the Northern Premier League, Longridge batted first after winning the toss and their innings was held together by a superb 80 from Luke Platt that came off 96 balls and included 11 fours.

Jake Woods was the pick of the Furness bowlers, as he took 4-29 to restrict the visitors, but Millward (5-46) made hay by removing the home side’s top five batsmen in their order.

That included Nathan Waterston, who top-scored with 39 from opener, but there was still a chance with the score 110-5, only for a collapse that saw them lose their final five wickets fall for just 12 runs to kill off Furness’ chances after 25 overs.

Haverigg bowed out of the County Cup, as they were defeated by eight wickets at Carlisle, who play one division above them in the Cumbria Cricket League.

The villagers won the toss and chose to bat, but were restricted to just 126-7 from their 40 overs, although there was another excellent performance from Sri Lankan overseas Lahiru Jayakody.

He top-scored with 62 and the fact that the next highest total from a batsman was Jordan Postlethwaite with 11 shows how important his knock was.

However, it wasn’t enough, as a quickfire 52 off 47 deliveries from Mike Slack combined with a run-a-ball 47 not out from captain Marc Brown ensured Carlisle easily chased down their target in 23.1 overs.

Lindal Moor had a walkover in the second round of the National Village Cup after Edgworth couldn’t raise a team and they will travel to Burneside in round three.