Health heroes have been recognised with awards for their achievements.

The Bay Health and Care Partners (BHCP) has announced the winners of its 2019/20 Health Heroes awards, with victors revealed across primary, community and acute health care services.

The annual staff awards had been temporarily halted due to the coronavirus pandemic and, although a face-to-face ceremony could not take place, the partners felt it was important to recognise the excellent work and achievements of the winners.

Lorna Pritt, matron for infection prevention at the University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust, commended her colleagues in the trust’s cross-bay infection prevention team who won the 'excellence in patient safety' award.

She said: “The team was really pleased to be recognised, especially by colleagues from BHCP.

“The team has worked so hard to support our clinical and non-clinical colleagues through unprecedented times, ensuring that patient and staff safety is always the priority.

"I am very proud of the team, who have been amazing; their positivity, attention to quality, caring and supportive attitudes make me proud every day.

"To be recognised for our contribution has been so nice and really makes us feel valued; thank you BHCP.”

Karen Kyle, system programme director for Bay Health and Care Partners, added: “The Bay Health and Care Partners Health Heroes Awards are particularly special because they recognise the excellent work of colleagues across our strong partnerships in our hospitals, the community, primary care and beyond and our networks that help to represent, support and celebrate our diverse workforce.

“Although we couldn’t celebrate with a face-to-face ceremony in 2020 because of the pandemic, we still wanted to do something special for our winners to mark their fantastic achievements in 2019 and early 2020.

"A big well done to all of our winners.”

Other winners were Demi McCreadie, hepatology clinical nurse specialist at UHMBT, who scooped the 'outstanding improvement in patient experience' award.

The 'going the extra mile' award winner was Bay Medical Group care co-ordinator and social prescriber Karen Wisbach.

Dr Naseema Begum, Foundation Year 1 doctor at UHMBT, was named student/trainee of the year.

The 'leader of the year' award went to Dr Andrew Foster and Amanda Davey, joint clinical leaders of Bay ICC.

Dr Asim Ijaz, consultant for the emergency department at UHMBT, picked up the 'innovation and research' gong.

The 'inclusion and diversity' was received by UHMBT physiotherapist and volunteer social lead for the trust’s black and minority ethnic (BME) network, Yaseen Gani.

The 'team of the year' award for under 10 people went to Bay Health and Care Partners' integrated care communities development leads, including Maxine Baron at Barrow ICC, Georgina Livingstone at Grange and Lakes ICC and Mid Furness ICC, and Jenny Riley at Millom ICC.

Bay Integrated Care Community collected the award for teams of more than 10 people.