There was a sombre start to this week’s Barrow parkrun as the 172 participants, volunteers and onlookers held a minute silence to honour a popular and longstanding member who passed away suddenly.

Gill Thompson, 79, who completed her 257th park run only last Saturday, was a familiar face to runners and volunteers at Barrow.

Organisers said the hundreds of tributes being paid to the popular jogger in The Mail and across social media was testament to how highly she was regarded.

Volunteers are now urging anyone with ideas of how they can celebrate Miss Thompson’s life to contact the Barrow parkrun event directors.

The Barrow parkrun community celebrated Miss Thompson’s life in the only way they knew how - 30 personal bests.

The day also saw Bernie Mullen take part in his 50th parkrun.

Winning first place in the men’s race was Tom Brophy to finish in 17.38, followed by Luca Messenger Jones, finishing in 17.56 and David McNally who finished third in 18.22.

Coming first in the women’s race was Georgia Bell, who competed it in just 19.28, followed by Tyga Steele in 21:09 and Amy Singleton in 22.10.

Despite the weather conditions, 30 parkrunners turned up to tackle the course in Millom.

David Harker came first, in just 20:24, while Lee Thompett came a close second in 20:35, followed by Sam Moore in 22:39.

Leanne Jackson was the first woman home in 26:13, followed by Olivia Moore in 33:01 and Margaret Woods in 32:04.

79 runners, joggers and walker took part in the 55th Ford Parkrun, with eight first timers and fourteen new PBs set.

Winner of the men’s race was Ian Sanderson, who finished in 20:34, closely followed by Ethan Starmer-Jones in 21:10 and Daniel Aaron in 21:17. Winner of the women’ race was Heather Travis, finishing in 23:20, followed by Joanne Mcleod in 24:56 and Ellie Simmonds in 25:01.

Fell Foot parkrun saw nearly 300 parkrunners take on the course.

Bertie Houghton was home first in an impressive 17:16, closely finished by Andrew Dorrian in 17:21 and James Corbishley.

Lottie Beardwood finished first for the ladies in 21:15, followed by Jayne Dickinson in 22:29 and Ruth Mewis in 22:37.