Beat the fitness blues, your handy guide to being active in Cumbria in 2017

SHARE THIS STORY
23 January 2017 3:23PM

HAVE you perhaps over indulged over the Christmas season and now you've lost your motivation to get back into shape? Go Active in Cumbria have put together a handy guide on the best active events around the county in 2017


FEBRUARY

Trail 10 Dalemain

Sunday, February 26

A 10k trail running event that begins from the Dalemain Estate near Ullswater.


MARCH

Eden Valley Epic Cycle Sportive, Penrith

Sunday, March 5

A near 60 mile cycle ride with no major hills or mountains, beginning at Penrith Leisure Centre.


APRIL

Lakeland Loop Cycle Sportive, Great Langdale

Sunday, April 23

Starting from Great Langdale, the Lakeland Loop is approximately 69 miles long, with brilliant views and challenging climbs


MAY

Keswick to Barrow Walk

Saturday May 6th

Registration for teams of between six and 12 people opens in February. The Coniston to Barrow Walk also takes place on the same day if you fancy a shorter challenge.

Brathay Windermere Marathon, Brathay Hall

Sunday, May 21

Marathon and half marathon held amidst the beautiful scenery of the Lake District.


JUNE

Grasmere Gallop, Grasmere

Saturday, June 3

A day of challenging trail running through the Vale of Grasmere and Rydal.

Gelt Gladiator, Brampton

Saturday, June 10 & Sunday, June 11

Now in its third year, Gelt Gladiator sees runners trail through the woods and tackle obstacles on 3k, 6k, and 10k trails.

Great North Swim, Windermere

Friday, June 9 - Sunday, June 11

Europe’s biggest open water swimming event.

Keswick Mountain Festival, Keswick

Thursday, June 8 - Sunday, June 11

Jam packed festival featuring outdoor activities, live music from KT Tunstall and Cast. There will also be speakers and art.

Cumberland Show, Carlisle Racecourse

Saturday, June 17

Annual agricultural show celebrating farming, food and the countryside.

Lakesman Triathalon, Keswick

Sunday, June 18

Designed for both experienced and novice endurance athletes, The Lakesman is a traditional triathalon where participants will swim, cycle and run through the Lake District.


JULY

Velo Retro

Friday July 14 - Sunday 16

Returning for its fourth year, the vintage cycling festival in Ulverston. The easiest ride is called La Loafeur, which is 47km and aimed at people who aren’t regular riders. À L’ancienne Classic is a more intermediate ride at 85km, with a checkpoint at the Sir John Barrow Monument. The Mighty Corinthian is a whopping 300km, which is the longest retro bike ride in the world.


The Lakeland 100

Friday, July 28

A 100 mile ultra run which follows a circular route, encompassing the whole of the lakeland fells.

The Lakeland 50

Saturday, July 29

A 50 mile run covering the second half of the Lakeland 100 ultra run.


AUGUST


Total Warrior

Saturday, August 5 & Sunday, August 6

An obstacle race with both 10k and 10 mile routes, which include endless hills, rivers, mud, and 25 – 30 punishing obstacles.

Lowther Show, Lowther Castle and Gardens in Penrith

Saturday, August 12 & Sunday, August 13

Annual event with something for everyone, from shooting and fishing to food festivals.

Grasmere Sports and Show, Grasmere Sports Field

Sunday August 27

One of the oldest festivals in Cumbria showcasing the traditional sports of fell running, Cumberland and Westmorland Wrestling and Hound Trailing.

Cross Bay Challenge Half Marathon, Flookburgh

August, date TBC

One of the UK's top off-road races, crossing Cumbria to Lancashire at low tide.


SEPTEMBER

Coniston End to End Chillswim

Saturday, September 2

Chillswim Coniston is a mass participation, fully supported swim, covering the full 5.25 miles length of Coniston Water.

Helvellyn Triathalon

Sunday, September 3

The Lake District’s toughest triathlon.

Tour de Furness, Roose

Sunday, Sept 10

A cycling event with 13, 25 and 50 mile routes, as well as a 5 mile family ride.


NOVEMBER

Kendal Mountain Festival

TBC

UK’s biggest outdoor film festival featuring premieres, speakers and art.

*For all the latest fitness events in Cumbria, visit www.goactiveincumbria.com


Related stories:

Key dates for Cumbria's active events in 2017

Five great & easy walks in the Lake District

Comment on this article

Generate a new code
Comments not OK? Click here to let us know