PICTURE SPECIAL: Smith on top after young Furness bowlers battle it out

9 August 2017 12:02PM

RYAN Smith became the 17th winner of the Sam Howarth Trophy, after beating Adam Smith at Barrow Island.

As rain started to pour at Cavendish Park, 15-year-old Ryan defeated his namesake with some outstanding bowling in the final.

He put up good leads and found a winning bowl every time Adam managed a good wood, to such an extent that he triumphed 21-2.

The day started with Ethan Lowden, 12, producing some excellent bowling to beat Shaun Fisher 21-7 in the first round, with Sam Naylor doing the same to defeat Fraser Rigg 21-8.

As rain started to pour at Cavendish Park, Ryan defeated his namesake with some outstanding bowling in the final

Kian Goude led Rohan Massey Holmes 13-8, then trailed 18-15, before running out to take the game.

Jack Last had a nip-and-tuck game with Daniel Hughes up to 15-14, when the Salthouse youngster went clear to win.

The youngest player in the competition, nine-year-old Amelia Massey Holmes, had a tough match against one of the top junior bowlers in the area, Adam Smith, and Smith took time to coach the youngster during his 21-13 triumph.

Ten-year-old Daniel Thompson had a convincing 21-11 win against last years beaten semi-finalist Jack Brannon.

In the quarter-finals, Goude led Lowden 12-7, then found himself 15-12 behind. Although he cut the lead to 16-15, he could not prevent the King Alfred junior reaching the last four.

Lindal bowler Naylor looked to be heading for a last-four place when 18-12 up against Adam Smith, but last year's Lawson Trophy winner rallied to take the game 21-19.

Surprise package Thompson won a thrilling match 21-18 against Last, while in the remaining quarter-final Joe Hunter and Ryan Smith were level at 12-across before the Walney Park starlet pulled away to take the game.

The semi-finals saw two contrasting games.

Ryan Smith proved to strong for club-mate Thompson, romping home 21-7, while Lowden and 14-year-old Adam Smith had a real battle.

Adam led 13-7 and 18-12 before Lowden trailed by a single point three ends later. Both players then scored two singles before Adam found the winning wood.

Ken Howarth presented trophies and money to the last four competitors.

He thanked Barrow Island Bowling Club for the use of the green, all the markers and measurers, Mick Jones and Tommy Elliott for providing refreshments, and Ronnie Walmsley and Steve Hunter for their help running the competition.


Round One: Rohan Massey Holmes 18 Kian Goude 21, Ethan Lowden 21 Shaun Fisher 7, Amelia Massey Holmes 13 Adam Smith 21, Fraser Rigg 8 Sam Naylor 21, Daniel Hughes 14 Jack Last 21, Jack Brannon 11 Daniel Thompson 21.

Quarter-finals: Goude 15 Lowden 21, A Smith 21 S Naylor 19, Last 18 Thompson 21, Joe Hunter 15 Ryan Smith 21.

Semi-finals: Lowden 19 A Smith 21, Thompson 7 R Smith 21.

Final: A Smith 2 R Smith 21.

Comment on this article

Generate a new code
Comments not OK? Click here to let us know