Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Saturday, 30 May 2015

Subscriptions  |  evouchers  |  Jobs  |  Property  |  Motors  |  Travel  |  Dating  |  Family Notices

Raiders edge out Swinton in first game of 2011

BARROW Raiders stole victory in their opening pre-season game with a narrow win over Swinton.


Barrow Raiders 30 Swinton Lions 28

A brace from Liam Campbell and a try for James Nixon gave Barrow a 16-12 half-time.

Carl Forber and Phil Joseph responded for the visitors in an even opening period.

Karl Ashall put Swinton ahead for the first time soon after the break with a try, before Richard Fletcher powered in to make it 20-18.

Martin Ainscough and Dean Thompson put the Lions into an eight-point lead before Nathan Mossop struck back to make it 28-24 to Swinton.

Having been staring down the barrel at defeat, Barrow came good in the closing stages as Chris Larkin went in to take the win.

Jamie Thackray made his first appearance for Barrow as they hosted the Lions.

Thackray started in the front row, but was not joined in the squad by the other new face, Mark Gleeson, with Jamie Rooney also missing.

There was also a place in the Barrow side for Andreas Bauer, released at the end of the season but now back in the fold on the wing.

Swinton, led by former Barrow boss Steve McCormack, included ex-Widnes man Mark Smith among their substitutes.

Barrow Raiders Starting XIII: Andy Ballard, Andreas Bauer, Chris Larkin, Liam Harrison, James Nixon, Liam Campbell, James Coyle, Jamie Thackray, Nathan Mossop, Matt James, Michael Knowles, Martin Ostler, Richard Fletcher.
Substitutes: Brett McDermott, Jamie Butler, Marc Dixon.

Swinton Lions Starting XIII: Ian Mort, Sam Reay, Dean Thompson, Gavin Dodd, Rob Foxon, Martin Ainscough, Carl Forber, Mike Morrison, Phil Joseph, Neil Holland, Darren Hawkyard, Dale Cunnife, Andy Ainscough.
Substitutes: Karl Ashall, Mark Smith, Bruce Johnson, Neil Rigby, Richie Hawkyard.

Referee: Peter Brooke.


THREE MINUTES: Liam Campbell try, Andy Ballard conversion, 6-0.
SEVEN MINUTES: James Nixon try, 10-0.
21 MINUTES: Carl Forber try, Ian Mort conversion, 10-6.
24 MINUTES: Campbell try, Ballard conversion, 16-6.
36 MINUTES: Phil Joseph try, Mort conversion, 16-12.
43 MINUTES: Karl Ashall try, Mort conversion, 16-18.
51 MINUTES: Richard Fletcher try, 20-18.
64 MINUTES: Martin Ainscough try, Mort conversion, 20-24.
70 MINUTES: Dean Thompson try, 20-28.
73 MINUTES: Nathan Mossop try, 24-28.
76 MINUTES: Chris Larkin try, Michael Knowles conversion, 30-28.

Have your say

Be the first to comment on this article!

Make your comment

Your name

Your Email

Your Town/City

Your comment


North West Evening Mail What's on search

Powered by

Hot Jobs

Loading latest hot jobs...
Powered by Zoopla.co.uk

Featured companies

Searching for featured companies...
Search for:


Does social media affect the language young people use?



Show Result


Should Britain have a referendum on staying the EU?



Show Result

Resource Cumbria

The Forum

F. Dickinson footwear

Homes and gardens 22

To save our contact details direct to your smartphone simply scan this QR code

North West Evening Mail

Evening Mail Going Out