Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Sunday, 24 May 2015

Subscriptions  |  evouchers  |  Jobs  |  Property  |  Motors  |  Travel  |  Dating  |  Family Notices

Finalists revealed in CN Group Education awards

WE kicked off the new academic year by announcing the finalists for the 2014 CN Group Education and Learning Awards.

Judges were astounded by the quality and impressive number of entries received from across the county.

The annual awards – best known as the Golden Apples – look to reward excellence and celebrate the people, innovations and teams in education, training and learning in all its forms across Cumbria.

The winners will be revealed at a gala event at Carlisle Racecourse on Friday October 3 but now judges can finally breathe a sigh of relief as we unveil the finalists.

The judges met last month to pick this year’s 53 finalists and 19 winners, all of whom will be invited to next month’s awards ceremony.

Staff, learners and volunteers from across Barrow, Ulverston and Millom feature in the shortlist for these county award.

Furness College in Barrow has finalists in four categories, while Millom School and Ulverston Victoria High School are also in the mix.

Millom School’s design and technology volunteer George Burch, is up for the Support Staff of the Year Award, one the school’s two shortlistings.

Marie Whitehead, director of cnevents, part of the CN Group, said: “The entries this year across all categories gave the judges a huge headache in picking the winners.

“We were astounded by the quality of the entries and are delighted that there are so many educational establishments and providers across the county doing such a great job. The success stories are evidence that Cumbria is a great place to learn.”

Judges were Mark Bowman, chief executive of Inspira; Professor Liz Beaty, from the University of Cumbria; Kelly Pattison, education reporter at The Cumberland News and News & Star; and highly-respected former Barrow headteacher Jill Byrne, a previous winner of the Golden Apple award for headteacher of the year.

The University of Cumbria and Inspira are the associate sponsors of this year’s awards.

The shortlist

Learner of the Year:
• Callum Latimer, William Howard School, Brampton
• Cody O’Pray, Lakes College/M-Sport
• Natalie Atkinson, University of Cumbria

Support Staff of the Year:
• Faye Waites, South Lakeland Young Carers
• George Burch, Millom School
• Heads of Year Team, West Lakes Academy
• Learning & Information Services Student Support Team, University of Cumbria

Early Years Award:
• Bolton Low Houses Pre School, Wigton
• Karen James, Kiddlywinks Nursery, Penrith
• Sally Budd, Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Trust, Carlisle

Community Involvement:
• Laura Sewell, Carlisle Youth Zone
• Michelle Watson, West Cumbria Young Carers
• Primary School Liaison, Furness College

Technology in Learning:
• Media Department, William Howard School, Brampton
• Peter Jewell, Millom School

Teaching Assistant of the Year:
• Jackie Barton, Stanwix School, Carlisle
• Kay Tyson, The Whitehaven Academy

Innovation in the Arts Award:
• IPerform Team, Keswick School
• Janice Murray & Helen Morgan, Howgill Family Centre, Whitehaven
• Richard Milburn, University of Cumbria

Fit for Life:
• Fiona Ryden & Kirsty Lewis, Rock Challenge at The Whitehaven Academy
• PE Department, William Howard School, Brampton
• Sabrina Shaw, Lakes College, Workington

Outstanding New Teacher of the Year:
• Anna Blain, St Benedict’s Catholic High School,Whitehaven
• Jasmine Jolliffe, Arlecdon Primary School
• Michael McClelland, Richard Rose Morton Academy, Carlisle

Teacher/Lecturer of the Year:
• Katie Olley, Arlecdon Primary School
• Sarah Graham, Lakes College, Workington
• Steve McAloone, Furness College, Barrow

Headteacher/Principal of the Year:
• Sarah Jardine, Oughterside School, Aspatria
• Simon Jackson, Keswick School
• Sue Blair, Pennine Way Primary School, Carlisle

Award for Youth:
• Catherine Moss-Luffrum, Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Trust and The Wordsworth Trust
• Jan Davinson, Cumbria Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs
• Sue Davis, Eden Young Carers, Penrith

Against All Odds:
• Christopher Wilson, Furness College, Barrow
• Luke Shaw, Lakes College, Workington
• Natalie Atkinson, University of Cumbria, Carlisle

Apprentice of the Year:
• Paige O’Brien, Cumbria County Council, Ulverston
• Stephanie Kelly, Gen2/Sellafield Limited
• Tom Strong, Lakes College/Walker Brothers Limited

Post 16/Training Provider of the Year:
• Esh Group, Durham
• University of Cumbria, Carlisle

Primary School of the Year:
• Lanercost School, Brampton
• Victoria Junior School, Workington
• Wiggonby CoE School, Wigton

Secondary School of the Year:
• Keswick School, Keswick
• West Lakes Academy, Egremont
• William Howard School, Brampton

Special Needs Award:
• Angela Hutchinson & Learning Support Department, Ulverston Victoria High School
• Rachel Clark, Bransty Primary School, Whitehaven
• Strategic Resource Provision & Learning Support Department, Cockermouth School

Lifetime Achievement Award:
• Anne Attwood, Principal & Chief Executive, Furness College, Barrow


North West Evening Mail What's on search

Powered by

Hot Jobs

Loading latest hot jobs...
Powered by Zoopla.co.uk

Featured companies

Searching for featured companies...
Search for:


Does the UK's Trident nuclear deterrent make you feel safer?



Show Result

Resource Cumbria

The Forum

F. Dickinson footwear

Homes and gardens 22

To save our contact details direct to your smartphone simply scan this QR code

North West Evening Mail

Evening Mail Going Out