Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Thursday, 28 May 2015

Subscriptions  |  evouchers  |  Jobs  |  Property  |  Motors  |  Travel  |  Dating  |  Family Notices

Dalton school's community celebrates success

PAST and present students, staff, parents and guests gathered to celebrate a school’s year of achievement.

Headteacher Julie O’Connor welcomed the audience at Dowdales School’s annual prize-giving ceremony and reflected on a year of success.

In her address Mrs O’Connor described Dowdales as “more than a school’’.

She spoke of the teamwork of the school community, and how particularly evident that had been following the fire in September that left classrooms badly damaged, and how the quality of relationships was highly valued.

Many students also took part in the presentation to showcase their talents and achievements, including in the areas of music, dance, academic subjects and sport, as well as extra-curricular activities ranging from the formation of a new reptile club to school trips to Iceland and students’ involvement in leadership programmes, carrying the Olympic torch ahead of the 2012 games and in Duke of Edinburgh award schemes.

Guest speaker, mayor of Dalton Councillor Barry Doughty, handed out the prizes and certificates to successful students and, in his speech, spoke about the importance of all-round learning and his own admiration for educationalist Dr Kurt Hahn, the founder of the Duke of Edinburgh award scheme and Gordonstoun School.


Reuben Allonby: The J T Franks Cup for All Round Excellence.

Bradley Baker: The Yarl Hydra Centre Prize for Product Design.

Paul Braithwaite: The N Hepworth (Memorial) Prize for Perseverance.

James Coglan: The P Smith Prize for French.

Sara Coltherd: The D H Legg Prize for Special Achievement.

John Cook: The Laura Chatfield Award for Special Achievement.

Jasmine Culbert: The Jillian Parker-Mansell Prize for Outstanding Progress.

Charlotte Hagan: The Margaret Swiercocki Shield for Progress in Art.

Jamie Jones: The R J Jones Prize for Technology.

Jessica Lewis: The Jackson Shield for Individual Endeavour.

Oliver Marriott: The Dalton Charter Prize for Fine Arts.

Charlotte Marsh: The N Hepworth (Memorial) Prize for Perseverance.

Brandon Olliver: The Dalton with Newton Town Council Shield for Service to the Community.

Shannon Oliver: The School Prize for Five Years Unbroken Attendance.

Joshua Rayner: The Bernard Parker Prize for Outstanding Progress.

Eve Storey: The Jadine Huddleston Trophy for Determination.

Kay Sturgeon: The Margaret Rushworth-Parker Prize for Presentation of Written Work.

Emily Williams: The David Jackson Memorial Prize for a True Dowdalian.

Jordan Woodend: The J Pickthall Sportsman of the Year Award.

Matthew Bayliff: The Liz Moffatt Trophy, Learning to Fly; The J T Gilchrist Prize for Chemistry.

Lucy Bowns: The E Stephenson Prize for Textiles; The Churches Together in Dalton Prize for Endeavour.

Chloe Brannon: The Blair Prize for Geography; The School Prize for Five Years Unbroken Attendance.

Jake Brown: School Prize for Overall Contribution to Physical Education; The Dalton Fire Brigade Trophy for Outstanding Progress.

Ross Campbell: The School Prize for Five Years Unbroken Attendance; The Ferguson Prize for Endeavour.

Rebecca Kennedy: The M G Dickinson Prize for Girl’s Sport (Rose Bowl); The Headteacher’s Prize.

Joshua Lister: The J Hornby Prize for English Literature; The E G Beavis Prize for Religious Studies.

Joshua McDonald: The D B Anderson (Memorial) Prize for Music; The School Prize for Five Years Unbroken Attendance.

Lucie Moore: The A M Fisher Shield for Dance; The Furness Footwear Prize for Endeavours on Behalf of the School.

Eleanor Sedgwick: The M Noall Prize for Food Technology; The School Prize for Five Years Unbroken Attendance.

Hannah Stanway: The School Prize for Five Years Unbroken Attendance; The J T Franks Cup for All Round Excellence.

Kit Wickens: The School Prize for German; The Ashley Prize for Mathematics.

Daisy Reed: Barrow and District Association of Engineers Award for Performance in Science and Engineering; The Meg Fletcher Award for Exceptional Work on Behalf of Others; The Nat West Trophy for Mathematics.


Faye Patton: The W Pudsey Trophy for English Coursework; The Ethel Cuthbert Scholarship for Modern Languages; The Fisher Cup for Outstanding Academic Achievement; The School Prize for Physics.


Matthew Belsey: The B Adams Prize for Drama; The Haigh Shield for English Language; The K Show Prize for Information Technology; The E Brewer (Memorial) Prize for History; The Philip Roberts (Memorial) Trophy for Outstanding Academic Achievement; The Glaxo Prize for Biology; Lancaster University - Student of the Year.


North West Evening Mail What's on search

Powered by

Hot Jobs

Loading latest hot jobs...
Powered by Zoopla.co.uk

Featured companies

Searching for featured companies...
Search for:


Will you be watching the Pearl Izumi Tour Series cycling in Barrow on Friday?



Show Result

Resource Cumbria

The Forum

F. Dickinson footwear

Homes and gardens 22

To save our contact details direct to your smartphone simply scan this QR code

North West Evening Mail

Evening Mail Going Out